

Standards Committee

22 August 2016

Time 10.00 am Public Meeting? YES Type of meeting Oversight

Venue Committee Room 4 - Civic Centre

Membership

Chair Clir Martyn Tittley (Staffordshire County Council)

Labour Conservative

Cllr Ian Brookfield Cllr Tersaim Singh Cllr Martin Waite Cllr Mary Bateman Cllr Barry Findlay (Con)

Quorum for this meeting is two Councillors.

Information for the Public

If you have any queries about this meeting, please contact the democratic support team:

Contact Julia Cleary

Tel/Email 01902 555046 julia.cleary@wolverhampton.gov.uk

Address Democratic Support, Civic Centre, 2nd floor, St Peter's Square,

Wolverhampton WV1 1RL

Copies of other agendas and reports are available from:

Website http://wolverhampton.moderngov.co.uk
democratic.support@wolverhampton.gov.uk

Tel 01902 555043

Please take note of the protocol for filming and recording of, and use of social media in, meetings, copies of which are displayed in the meeting room.

Some items are discussed in private because of their confidential or commercial nature. These reports are not available to the public.

Agenda

Part 1 – items open to the press and public

Item No. Title

BUSINESS ITEMS

- 1 Apologies for absence
- 2 Declarations of interest
- 3 Minutes of previous meeting (Pages 3 4)
- 4 Matters arising

DECISION ITEMS

5 Exclusion of the Press and Public

To pass the following resolution:

That in accordance with section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972 the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following item of business as it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information falling within paragraph 1 of schedule 12A to the act relating to the business affairs of particular persons.

- 6 PART II
- 7 Report into an Alleged Breach of the Code of Conduct for Councillors (Pages 5 280)
 - a) For Members to consider whether there has been a breach in the Code of Conduct for Councillors:
 - b) If a breach has occurred, for Members to consider what action should be taken.



Standards Committee

Minutes - 11 July 2016

Agenda Item No: 3

Attendance

Members of the Standards Committee

Cllr Ian Brookfield Cllr Tersaim Singh Cllr Barry Findlay (Chair) Cllr Martin Waite

Employees

Colin Parr Head of Governance

Sara Goodwin Democratic Support Manager Julia Cleary Democratic Support Officer

Part 1 – items open to the press and public

Item No. Title

1 Apologies for absence

There were no apologies for absence.

2 Declarations of interest

There were no declarations of interest.

3 Minutes of previous meeting

Resolved: That the minutes of the previous meeting be agreed as a correct record.

4 Honorary Alderman

The Committee considered a report in relation to whether to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillor Dass and on former Councillor Whitehouse.

Resolved:

That an extraordinary meeting of the Council be convened on 20 July 2016 to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillor Bishan Dass and on former Councillor Richard Whitehouse.



Agenda Item No: 7



